Oregon state law is very specific regarding the possession of controlled substances. Each of the most commonly abused drugs has a section dedicated to drug crimes such as possession, manufacture, and distribution. The sections of the Oregon Revised Statutes regarding drug possession are as follows:
As listed above, most possession charges in Oregon result in a felony conviction. For a Class C felony, which is the lowest class, an individual could face 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $125,000. Class B felonies involve a prison term of up to 10 years and a fine of up to $250,000. If convicted, these penalties could have a permanent impact on your future, your relationships, and your finances. Make sure that you are properly defended by a skilled Portland criminal defense attorney by calling my offices today!
Drug possession charges can be defended by proving that the drugs were not yours or that you were unaware of their existence. Even if your charges are not dismissed, I will fight for a reduction of your charges to a misdemeanor instead of a felony. Take the first step toward your criminal defense by calling today for a consultation. I handle each of my client's cases personally and prepare each case extensively in order to stay ahead of the prosecution. Contact my firm today!