In Oregon, criminal homicide is simply causing the death of another human being, without justification. When criminal homicide is done intentionally, it is murder. Manslaughter is the legal term for killing another person but in a way that is thought to be less culpable than murder.
If you are convicted of manslaughter, you could face mandatory imprisonment. The sentencing depends on the degree and type of manslaughter. Manslaughter in the First Degree will receive a mandatory 10 year sentence. Manslaughter in the Second Degree will receive a mandatory 6 year and 3 month sentence. In addition, many homicide related crimes come with other charges that can increase the amount of prision time someone will receive, in addition to other factors that a judge weighs at sentencing, such as:
The mandatory minimum sentence for manslaughter in Oregon is 10 years but an exception can be made when the victim is a sick or injured child that is treated with spiritual means leading to their death. This is considered manslaughter II and has a minimum sentence of 6 years and 3 months. In the 2011 Oregon Revised Statutes, details regarding manslaughter penalties are listed. In volume 4 section 163 of the statues, manslaughter in the first degree is discussed. Criminal homicide is manslaughter in the first degree, this category of manslaughter is:
Manslaughter in the first degree is a Class A felony. Manslaughter in the second degree is a Class B felony when the crime is committed:
Taking the life of another person is one of the most serious crimes that one could be charged with. There is so much at stake when faced with a manslaughter charge, so call a Portland criminal defense attorney to receive a free consultation with an experienced lawyer today!