Upon arrest for driving under the influence in Oregon, an officer will confiscate the driver's license and issue a 30-day temporary license. If no action is taken to reinstate their license or obtain a hardship license, the driver will suffer a 90-day suspension for their offense. For a second or subsequent offense within five years of a prior DUI conviction, however, your license could be suspended for three years.
Your license could also be suspended for refusing BAC testing, such as a breathalyzer test or a urine test. Oregon follows implied consent laws, meaning that every motorist who obtains an Oregon drivers' license agrees to consent to a breath, blood, or urine test if stopped by a law enforcement officer under suspicion of DUI. If you refuse to take such a test, your license will be suspended for one year or for three years if you have a prior conviction on your record.
If your license has been confiscated due to drunk driving charges, you can request a DMV hearing within 10 days of your arrest. If you do so in a timely manner, you can appear before an administrative judge at the DMV and petition for a hardship license. This extends your temporary driving privileges past the initial 30 days, allowing you to drive to limited places such as work or school until your criminal hearing is complete. You are allowed to have legal counsel and representation for a DMV hearing, so contact a Portland DUI defense lawyer from my firm today.
Call my offices right away if you are in need of quality legal advice and representation. I have handled countless DUI defense cases and am more than capable of protecting your right to drive. Whether you need to request a DMV hearing or fight your criminal charges, I have the trial experience needed to successfully handle your case. Contact a Portland DUI attorney from my firm today to take advantage of a free consultation and learn exactly what can be done for you.