Out of state DUI charges still have many consequences for those from those visiting the area. If you received a DUI charge in the state of Oregon the state cannot suspend or revoke your license, they can only suspend your right to drive in the state of Oregon. They can still impose a minimum fine of $1,000, or a minimum jail sentence of 48 hours. On top of the consequences that the state of Oregon will impose on you, your own state may impose other penalties, and will suspend your license.
The state of Oregon and most other states participate in the Driver License Compact, in which states share information regarding DUI charges and convictions, and you can expect to face license suspension in your home state, and have to deal with the DUI penalties imposed in your home state as well. I have spent many years in the courtroom helping clients defend against their DUI charges in the Portland area, including representing out-of-state drivers.
Let an experienced Portland DUI attorney help you resolve this serious problem. Contact me today for immediate assistance.
Need a lawyer in the Portland area to help with your case? With my extensive knowledge of Oregon DUI laws , I can help you defend against your case. Contact me at Neal Weingart, Attorney at Law, LLC in order to discuss the possible defense strategies that could help you avoid conviction. I understand the inconvenience of having to travel back and forth from Portland to your state, and in many cases, could allow you to avoid making a court appearance. I will manage every aspect of your case. Call now.