Drivers that are arrested and charged with DUI in Oregon, whether licensed here or in another state, will face the same legal consequences – and they are extensive. There are more problematical issues to resolve if you live in another state, such as how to make a court appearance, particularly if you live a long distance away. There can be very serious concerns about what to do, and how to manage the situation.
The first and most important matter to resolve is to get representation from a DUI defense lawyer in Oregon. In this state, there is a mandatory 1 year suspension of your driver's license for a conviction, and up to 1 year in jail could be imposed for the very unlucky, but a minimum of 48 hours will be required, among other penalties.
If suspended in Oregon, it is highly likely that your suspension will be enforced in the state in which you live. Most states share this information, and most impose the penalty upon you when you return home – your license will be suspended in your home state, for that period of time.
There is another option. You could fight the charge. Are you sure you will be convicted? No one can be certain until there has been a full case evaluation. It is worth your time to speak with a local attorney before you do anything else. The first action to take after an arrest is to call a lawyer and get representation – before you discuss the matter with any other person, particularly law enforcement. The more you talk the worse it can get for you.
It could be possible to avoid having to return to Oregon, and your attorney can advise you of these options. If you want professional legal counsel and were arrested in the Portland area, connect with Neal Weingart, a prominent DUI defense lawyer. Call today for information about resolving an arrest for DUI if you live in another state.